Award Categories

Outstanding Roomkeeper of the Year
non-management employee

Recognizes exceptional service in the housekeeping department.

Outstanding Manager of the Year
lodging only

Recognizes exceptional performance by a supervisory employee (e.g., food & beverage managers, front desk managers, etc.) to their subordinates, to guests and to the community.

Outstanding Bellperson/Houseperson of the Year
non-management employee 

Recognizes exemplary professionalism and exceptional service by a bellperson/houseperson.

Outstanding Lodging Employee of the Year

Recognizes a non-management employee (e.g.,concierges, house keepers, etc.) who provides outstanding service to the property, guests and community.

Outstanding Tourism Executive of the Year

Recognizes a management/executive who has demonstrated outstanding contributions of leadership and service to his/her community. The nominees are judged on performance that goes above and beyond normal job responsibilities and outstanding services to the industry. Included in this category are: lodging properties, museums, parks and attractions, ski areas, convention and visitors bureaus, convention centers, historical sites, chambers of commerce, colleges and universities, tourism agencies and Allieds.

Outstanding General Manager of the Year

Honors a hotelier who has demonstrated superior professionalism and taken a leadership role in the industry by actively participating in association, community, or industry programs.

Good Earthkeeping Award

Recognizes lodging properties that have developed a culture toward integrating superior environmental management practices that improve everyday operations and the bottom line, while maintaining quality service and meeting guest expectations in two or more of the following areas: energy conservation, solid waste reduction, emissions, water conservation, purchasing, and business issues.

Community Service Award

Awarded for programs that demonstrate that the individual property is responsive to the local community. Examples include: campaigns to benefit local or national service organizations or charities, service to any part of the community through a special project and joint undertakings with community groups for the benefit of the area.

Bed and Breakfast of Distinction

This award recognizes the B&B property that demonstrates architectural excellence and distinction; reflects significance of historical preservation; serves as ambassador for the B&B segment of the lodging industry; and/or plays an integral role in promoting the local tourism economy.

Pinncale Award

All winners will be eligible to win this award, which is given to an individual who epitomizes lifelong contributions to the industry in memory of late NYSH&TA Chairman Louis N. Ventresca.